Reporter’s Rolodex

IMG_0657
(Photograph by Jaymie Baxley)

Following is a roundup of useful sources for North Carolina journalists, organized alphabetically by beat. Email rolodex suggestions to jaymiebaxleync@gmail.com.

Agriculture

N.C. Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services

Andrea Ashby | Director

Phone: 919-707-3000

Email: andrea.ashby@ncagr.gov

N.C. FFA Association

Daniel Toole | State President (Term expires July 20, 2019)

Phone: 919-515-4206

Email: ncffa.dtoole@gmail.com

Business

Better Business Bureau of North Carolina

Alyssa Gutierrez | Director of Communications

Phone: 919-277-4220

Email: agutierrez@raleigh.bbb.org

Business North Carolina (Magazine)

David Mildenberg | Editor

Phone: 704-523-4417

Email: dmildenberg@businessnc.com

N.C. Department of Commerce

Beth Gargan | Deputy Secretary for Communications and External Affairs

Phone: 919-814-4610

Email: beth.gargan@nccommerce.com

N.C. Small Business Center Network

Anne Shaw | State Director

Phone: 910-545-3679

Email: shawa@coastalcarolina.edu

Education

North Carolina Association of Educators

Rachelle Johnson | Executive Director

Phone: 800-662-7924 Ext. 202

Email: rachelle.johnson@ncae.org

N.C. Community College System

Brian Long | Executive Director of Public Affairs

Phone: 919-807-6962

Email: longb@nccommunitycolleges.edu

N.C. Education Lottery

Van Denton | Communications Director

Phone: 919-301-3308

Email: Robert.Denton@lotterync.net

University of North Carolina System

Jason Tyson | Director of Media Relations

Phone: 919-962-7296

Email: jtyson@northcarolina.edu

Environment

Clean Air Carolina

June Blotnick | Executive Director

Phone: 704-877-6405

Email: june@cleanaircarolina.org

Environment North Carolina

Drew Ball | Staff Director

Phone: 919-833-0015

Email: dball@environmentnorthcarolina.org

N.C. Conservation Network

Brian Powell | Communications Director

Phone: 919-857-4699 Ext.109

Email: powell@ncconservationnetwork.org

N.C. WARN

Kristen L. Wills | Staff Attorney

Phone: 919-416-5077

Email: Kristen@ncwarn.org

Southern Environmental Law Center of North Carolina

Kathleen Sullivan | Senior Program Communications Manager

Phone: 919-967-1450

Email: ksullivan@selcnc.org

Health

Blue Cross and Blue Shield of North Carolina

Laura Eberhard | Communications Specialist

Phone: 919-765-4951

Email: laura.eberhard@bcbsnc.com

National Alliance on Mental Illness of North Carolina

Deby Dihoff | Executive Director

Phone: 919-788-0801 Ext. 4752

Email: ddihoff@naminc.org

N.C. Health News (nonprofit)

Rose Hoban | Editor

Phone: 919-295-6246

Email: editor@northcarolinahealthnews.org

Recovery Centers of North Carolina

Terri Conyers | Statewide Manager of Community Relations

Phone: 919-231-0248

Email: info@rcnc.org

LGBTQ

Equality N.C.

Ben Graumann | Director of Communications

Email: bgraumann@equalitync.org

Phone: 919-829-0343 Ext. 117

N.C. Gay + Lesbian Film Festival

Jana Faigen | Senior Director of Operations

Phone: 919-560-3040

Email: jana@carolinatheatre.org

Politics

League of Women Voters of North Carolina

Janet Hoy | Co-President

Phone: 858-688-6646

Email: lwvjhoy@gmail.com

Karen Bean | Co-President

Phone: 704-596-4689

Email: beank@bellsouth.net

N.C. Board of Elections

Patrick Gannon | Public Information Officer

Phone: 919-814-0765

Email: patrick.gannon@ncsbe.gov

N.C. Democratic Party

Sarah Flowers | Deputy Press Secretary

Phone: 919-821-2777

Email: sarahflowers@ncdemocraticparty.org

N.C. GOP

Jeff Hauser | Communications Director

Phone: 919-828-6423

Email: Jeff.hauser@ncgop.org

N.C. Policy Watch

Rob Schofield | Executive Director

Phone: 919-861-2065

Email: rob@ncpolicywatch.com

Poverty

Food Bank of Eastern and Central North Carolina

Jessica Slider Whichard | Senior Manager for Communications

Phone: 919-865-3050

Email: jwhichard@foodbankcenc.org

Gene R. Nichol

Author of “The Faces of Poverty in North Carolina” (2018)

Phone: 919-962-5928

Email: gnichol@email.unc.edu

N.C. Coalition to End Homelessness

Denise Neunaber | Executive Director

Phone: 919-755-4393

Email: info@ncceh.org

North Carolina Justice Center

Julia Hawes | Director of Communications

Phone: 919-856-2570

Email: julia@ncjustice.org

Public Safety

Frank R. Baumgartner

Author of “Suspect Citizens” (2018)

Phone: 919-962-3041

Email: fbaum@email.unc.edu

N.C. Department of Insurance

Marla Sink | Deputy Commissioner for Communications

Phone: 919-807-6017

Email: marla.sink@ncdoi.gov

N.C. Division of Prisons

John Bull | Communications Officer

Phone: 984-255-6021

Email: john.bull@ncdps.gov

Sheriff’s Association

Sheriff James E. Clemmons Jr. | President

Phone: 910-895-3232

Email: james.clemmons@richmondnc.com

State Highway Patrol

Sgt. Michael Baker | Public Information Officer

Phone: 919-733-5027

Email: michael.d.baker@ncdps.gov

Sgt. Christopher Knox | Public Information Officer

Phone: 919-733-5027

Email: christopher.knox@ncdps.gov

State Bureau of Investigation

Anjanette (Angie) Grube | Public Information Director

Phone: 980-781-3049

Email: sbimedia@ncsbi.gov

Race

Latin Americans Working for Achievement (Charlotte)

Ana Silva Rey | Executive Director

Phone: 704-552-1003

Email: lawa@lawanc.org

NAACP of North Carolina

Joy Cook | Media Contact

Phone: 336-417-1112

Email: media@naacpnc.org

N.C. Commission of Indian Affairs

Gregor Richardson | Executive Director

Phone: 919-807-4440

Email: greg.richardson@doa.nc.gov

Science

North Carolina Biosciences Organization

Sam Taylor | President

Phone: 919-281-8960

Email: staylor@ncbioscience.net

North Carolina Museum of Natural Sciences

Jonathan Pishney | Head of Communications

Phone: 919-707-8083

Email: jonathan.pishney@naturalsciences.org

Transportation

AAA Carolinas

Tiffany Wright | Public Relations Manager

Phone: 704-737-8306

Email: tmwright@mailaaa.com

N.C. Department of Transportation

Nicole Meister | Director of Communications

Phone: 919-707-2674

Email: ndmeister@ncdot.gov